Turn That TV Off.

When a TV is on, we can’t resist but watch it. It was fun when I was a kid, going home to watch your favorite cartoons or watch soap operas with your mom. It’s an everyday occurrence. But somehow the whole experience deteriorated when TV started to become garbage.

I was always asked if I needed a TV in my dorm room. I always said no, that it would distract me, etc. The truth is, I just find local TV programs sometimes a waste of time and I don’t want to be consumed by it.

I don’t want to spend my nights listening to sensationalized news, soap operas I can practically predict after 20 years of my life, reality shows that are not really ‘reality’ shows, talk shows that highlight the lives of celebrities and the life of the rich, which is a small percentage of the country population anyways. Really, I don’t want to spend two to four hours of my life focused on a celebrity wedding: what were they wearing, who was there, and how extravagant the bridal gown was.

Unfortunately while I was on vacation, I watched a lot of it. My mom was watching, and I was too. But I tried my best to do something else. Read, cook, entertain the cat, more things. I don’t want to be sucked into the world of local TV. I hope to never return to that trance state. Enough is enough.

Inspired by Daily Prompt: Enough Is Enough.

Leave your own fragments

