Instinct Dictates that You Run, but…

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

I assume the purpose of this prompt is to talk what is important to you. But in moments of a real fire, you don’t really think about things like that. As with Sherlock Holmes, mothers bring their babies, women who are not moms bring their jewelries, and Irene Adlers bring incriminating pictures of royals.

In a complete state of panic you don’t really remember a lot of things, but if there’s 5 things that I have to bring with me (and hopefully I can get out safely), I’d have to say these are the following.

I live in a boarding house with an ‘n’ number of co-dormers, so I’m just dictating what I alone will bring.

  • Bring the valuables. Government IDs and passports and ATMs. I assume I don’t have the time to bring documents but meh, those can be replaced easier than IDs.
  • Bring the laptop. With or without the plug or anything. It might be hard to consider that this laptop gives me a backache every time I bring it in class. I’m not materialistic or anything but please. Files are important things to lose.
  • Bring a phone. Enough said.
  • Bring a blanket. I assume that if ever I survive this fire, I will be residing the following night in a place I am not familiar of. A blanket gives a sense of familiarity and comfort. I know, I sound like a child, but I don’t care.

Now, you might be thinking of why I’m not bringing sentimental things to my five. As I said, I live in a dorm room. There’s not much sentimental things in this room other than my glasses, which I wear anyways. So, I took an approach that’s a bit different: What will I miss if it burns to ashes? That would be:

  • A handkerchief given to me by a friend. It’s this average-size, dingy-because-its-been-in-the-cabinet-for-too-long kind of hanky. I don’t know why, but it’s the only thing that I’ll regret not bringing that’s absolutely mundane. I probably can’t stress enough how important it is to me, and the fact that it’s the only remotely sentimental thing in here, is saying something about my priorities in life.

This exercise has been a bit enlightening to think about, but if it were to happen, those are my five. I’m glad I have that list pre-prepared.

Inspired by Daily Prompt: Burning Down the House

Leave your own fragments

