Book Values

March 17 – Bone of Contention:

Pick a contentious issue about which you care deeply – it could be the same-sex marriage debate, or just a disagreement you’re having with a friend. Write a post defending the opposite position and then reflect on what it was like to do that.

“Fiction books are a waste of time.”

There, I said it. This irks me more than it should, and I try my best to explain this to ears that will not open for me (You people know who you are, but do please stick around and hear me.). But I’ve come to terms with the fact that reading (fiction) is really not for everyone.

I’ve already come across people that are very vocal about their choice not to read books about non-existent worlds, characters, and stories that are altogether not true, and will never be. Readers would say that it is betrayal to at least even consider this fact, but fiction is not everything.

Fiction is never the only books that you need to survive. There are more books out there that are just as worthy to be read, and being confined in the imaginary is not a good thing. In someways, it is broadening but at the same time restricting. Sometimes, diving into the world that is non-existent makes you forget what is real, and it sets certain expectations on what is real.

There is also the illusion of being book smart just by reading fiction books. There is the feeling of profoundness that is sometimes unnecessary, condescending, and in the words of another author, an ‘insufferable know-it-all”. I, myself, am part of that population. Am I proud of it? To some degree. But either way I am aware it’s not a good thing to binge-read these books and expect life to turn out the same as they are written. Real life doesn’t work that way. Letters of admissions do not fly into your kitchen window by owls, animals do not build windmills and men don’t make vague-to-read stares that make them just attractive, but not remotely creepy.

Writing this prompt not only gives me a chance to reflect but also a peace of mind. I am raising the white flag as I am aware that books are not oxygen. But I’m continuing reading anyways.

[Inspired by 365 Days of Daily Prompts. I’m trying my best to keep up with it, I swear.]

One thought on “Book Values

  1. A good story is a good story. I must admit, i am not into Harry Potter or any other sort of hocus-pocus stories, but i do like to read Tom Clancy. It’s really just a matter of personal taste. I can’t see Harry Potter being a waste of time, since millions of people have read the books. I have watched the movies (somewhat) and do find the story interesting, but just not for me. For me, all books are great if they make you happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your own fragments

